Quiz Week 3: Challenged with functions

Today the whole classroom were ordered to write a code as a quiz that could calculate square and cube roots in a uncommon way where we used functions.

At the first of the class many of us didn’t know what to do, so we started to search information on the web. Finally, I asked for a classmate help and my wolrd lit up. This i what I learned from both internet and my friend:

  1. I need to call the library math.h to use mathematical operations like square root and cube root.
  2. To write a function you need to declare the type of this one.
  3. Then you have to write its name and, in parentheses, declare all the variables you need to use during the execution of the function.
  4. After that, in curly brackets, you write the type of the function, call the function, and tell it what to do.
  5. At the end of the function, you need to return the resultant value.
  6. Finally, you print as well as ask for data into int main() function. You can add all the conditionals or loops you need.
  7. For using the functions previouly created you only have to utilize a output command, and inside it you call the function with the corresponding variable. The format is something like this: cout << function_name(variable); .

Well, that is what I practically did today during the class, and I have to say that I was joyful when my program could be compiled.

P.D. I made my program to use imaginary numbers for square roots, with the symbol “i” (which means the square root of -1),  when the user entered a negative number, instead of displaying an error, beacuse I think it’s m

Leave a comment